One of Washington, D.C.'s largest office-to-residential redevelopments has secured a new majority partner and $175.6 million in construction financing. A partnership of Stonebridge, the Bernstein Companies and Criterion Real Estate Capital sold a 72 percent stake in the conversion of 1990 K Street NW to an entity managed by MetLife Investment Management for $58.7 million, according to records reported by the Business Journals. The transaction matters because it signals that institutional investors are willing to take majority positions in downtown D.C. office conversions, a property type that has struggled with financing complexity and uncertain demand even as the city pushes aggressively to add housing in the central business district.

The roughly $250 million redevelopment, which will be rebranded as 1999 Eye Street NW, will replace the former office building with a 14-story, 412,000-square-foot mixed-use property. Plans call for 340 market-rate apartments, 44 affordable units, 50 student housing units totaling 200 beds, along with 15,600 square feet of retail and 189 parking spaces. Kennedy Wilson Capital led the financing along with U.S. Fire Insurance, North River Insurance, Odyssey Reinsurance and Allied World Assurance. Cushman & Wakefield's D.C.-based capital markets and debt advisory team arranged the financing. Bernstein bought the property for $55.8 million in 2001, and Stonebridge and Criterion joined the ownership group last year, according to the source.

The evidence for this transaction comes from a single full-text report by Commercial Observer, a secondary trade publication, which itself cites records reported by the Business Journals. The article does not disclose the full capital stack, the loan's interest rate, maturity, or whether the $58.7 million stake sale reflects a premium or discount to the property's prior valuation. It also does not specify the exact ownership percentages retained by Stonebridge, Bernstein, or Criterion after the sale, beyond the 72 percent stake transferred to the MetLife-managed entity. The source confirms that demolition started in September 2025, but does not provide a projected completion date or leasing timeline.

The project is part of D.C.'s Housing in Downtown program, which offers a 20-year tax abatement for qualifying commercial-to-residential conversions and redevelopments. It is the second-largest project in the program's pipeline, behind the planned conversion of the Universal Buildings on Connecticut Avenue into roughly 600 units. The presence of a 20-year abatement is a material policy support that likely improves underwriting for lenders and equity partners, though the source does not quantify the abatement's value for this specific project. The mix of market-rate, affordable, and student housing units also suggests the developers are diversifying demand across tenant types, which may reduce lease-up risk in a downtown office market still adjusting to hybrid work patterns.

Several limitations frame this transaction. The dossier contains no information on construction costs beyond the $250 million total, no detail on whether the $175.6 million loan covers the full remaining cost, and no evidence on projected rents or absorption. The source does not explain why the original partnership sold a majority stake, nor whether MetLife Investment Management intends to hold the asset long term or exit after stabilization. What to watch next includes whether the Universal Buildings conversion advances on schedule, whether additional institutional investors enter D.C.'s conversion pipeline, and whether the Housing in Downtown program's tax abatement is extended or modified as the city evaluates its effectiveness in reviving the downtown core.