Gantry has secured a $16 million permanent loan to refinance maturing debt for Russell Hall, a mixed-use property at 1414 NE 42nd St in Seattle's University District. The transaction matters because it shows continued lender appetite for well-located, income-producing assets directly adjacent to the University of Washington and the retail and hospitality corridor known as "The Ave." The refinancing replaces maturing debt with a five-year, fixed-rate, non-recourse loan, giving the borrower a stable capital structure while Gantry retains servicing responsibilities for the lender.
The property is a 62,400-square-foot, six-story building with a diversified income stack: 120 subterranean parking stalls, ground-floor retail, three floors of office space, and 30 apartment units on the top two floors. The residential component includes a mix of studio, one-, and two-bedroom floor plans. Ground-floor retail includes restaurant options, and the asset offers ready pedestrian access to nearby shopping, dining, and academic amenities. The loan was secured from one of Gantry's correspondent life companies and offers partial-term interest-only terms, a feature that can improve near-term cash flow for the borrower.
The source for this transaction is Connect CRE, a secondary trade publication, and the available text is a single full-text article of roughly 1,200 characters. The dossier identifies three corroborated facts: the $16 million loan amount, the $16 million figure repeated in the article body, and the property address. No additional documents, lender statements, or borrower disclosures are included in the factual boundary. Gantry's Mike Wood, Principal, Mike Taylor, Principal, and Tim Brown, Senior Associate, with the firm's Seattle production office, represented the borrower, a private real estate investor. The borrower's identity, the prior loan's terms, and the property's valuation or debt yield are not disclosed in the source.
For the Seattle commercial real estate market, the transaction offers a narrow but useful signal. A life-company correspondent loan with partial interest-only terms suggests that institutional lenders remain willing to underwrite mixed-use assets in high-traffic university-adjacent locations, even as office space remains a point of caution in many markets. The presence of three floors of office space within the collateral means the lender accepted exposure to that segment, though the source does not state occupancy, lease rollover, or office tenant credit quality. The five-year fixed-rate term also implies a refinancing event in the near-to-medium term, which will test whether current underwriting assumptions hold.
Several limitations apply. The evidence level is single_full_text, meaning the analysis must stay close to one source with no independent corroboration. The source does not provide loan-to-value, debt service coverage, interest rate, amortization schedule, or the exact portion of the loan that is interest-only. It also does not state whether the retail or office components are fully leased, nor does it identify the life company lender. Readers should treat the transaction as a single data point rather than a broad market trend. What to watch next includes any follow-up disclosures on occupancy, the borrower's refinancing outcome in five years, and whether similar University District mixed-use assets attract comparable life-company financing.